John Anderson's century helps Merrion beat Waringstown in Irish Senior Cup Final

John Anderson
John Anderson produced a match-winning innings for Merrion at Castle Avenue

John Anderson's century helped Merrion earn revenge for last year's final defeat as they beat Waringstown by 51 runs in the Irish Senior Cup decider.

Anderson hit 109 with Dom Joyce contributing 67 as Merrion notched a formidable 252-9 at Castle Avenue.

Waringstown were only able to post 196 in reply with Lee Nelson top-scoring with 48.

Anderson and Joyce put on 108 for the second wicket in Merrion's innings in the game's pivotal partnership.

Joyce and Anderson safely negotiated probing opening spells from former Irish international Phil Eaglestone (3-57) and South African professional Cobus Pienaar (2-39), to build the platform for what would be a match-winning total.

"We were a bit slow at the start but I just knew I had to bat for 50 overs and we'd have a decent score as I would be able to accelerate as the innings went on," said Anderson.

"The margin of the win was more comfortable than I expected but the bowlers did a super job and were backed up by the fielding throughout."

Waringstown's run chase never really got going, getting bogged down for long periods by a Merrion attack which never relinquished their stranglehold on the game.

Skipper Lee Nelson (48) and Greg Thompson (20) threatened briefly with a stand of 52, but with the required run rate steadily increasing, Merrion always held the upper hand.

Fifteen-year-old Max Neville set the tone with a magnificent opening spell, conceding just 12 runs in his seven over spell - as well as taking the crucial wicket of Pienaar - while former Ireland star Dave Langford-Smith crucially dismissed both Nelson and Thompson.


Irish Senior Cup Final

Merrion 252-9 J Anderson 109, D Joyce 67

Waringstown 196 L Nelson 48 W van Bohr 3-38

Merrion won by 51 runs

Ulster Bank Premier League

Derriaghy v Carrickfergus

Derriaghy 218-9 R Bailie 40, A Haggan 5-49

Carrickfergus 221-3 P Botha 65 no, I Parkhill 64 no

Carrickfergus won by 7 wickets and Derriaghy relegated

Instonians v CIYMS

Instonians 162 R Theron 88

CIYMS 100 N Jones 32, J Thompson 5-27

North Down v CSNI

North Down 127 J Muller 50

CSNI 128-3

CSNI won by 7 wickets

Long's SuperValu Premier League

Ardmore v Coleraine

Ardmore 202-4 D Curry 102 no, R Brolly 45

Coleraine 203-4 (48.2 overs) S Randiv 81, R. Chopra 69, S Dunn 3-28

Coleraine win by 6 wickets

Bready v Drummond

Drummond 197

Bready 198-6

Bready won by 4 wickets

Eglinton v Brigade

Eglinton 207 O Williams 91 no

Brigade 208-8

Brigade won by 2 wickets

Top Stories