The Ashes: England in Australia 2017-18, fixtures and squad

The Ashes urn at the Sydney Cricket Ground

England squad for Ashes tour of Australia

Joe Root (capt, Yorkshire), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (wk, Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Alastair Cook (Essex), Mason Crane (Hampshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Ben Foakes (wk, Surrey), Dawid Malan (Middlesex), Craig Overton (Somerset), Ben Stokes (Durham), Mark Stoneman (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Read more on England's squad

Steven Finn was added to the squad on 6 October, while Ben Stokes will not travel "as it stands." An England Lions squad has been selected and will shadow the senior squad in Australia for the first-half of The Ashes. The squad for the one-day and Twenty20 section of the tour will be announced at a later date.


4-5 v Western Australia XI, Perth (Waca)

8-11 v Cricket Australia XI, Adelaide (d/n)

15-18 v Cricket Australia XI, Townsville

23-27 1st Test, Brisbane (00:00 GMT)


2-6 2nd Test, Adelaide (d/n) (04:00 GMT)

9-10 v Cricket Australia XI, Perth (venue TBC)

14-18 3rd Test, Perth (Waca) (02:30 GMT)

26-30 4th Test, Melbourne (23:30 GMT, 25-29 Dec)


4-8 5th Test, Sydney (23:30 GMT, 3-7 Jan)

11 v Cricket Australia XI, Sydney (venue TBC)

14 1st ODI, Melbourne (03:20 GMT)

19 2nd ODI, Brisbane (04:20 GMT)

21 3rd ODI, Sydney (03:20 GMT)

26 4th ODI, Adelaide (03:50 GMT)

28 5th ODI, Perth (venue TBC)* (06:20 GMT)

*The ODI in Perth will either take place at the Waca, or the new Perth Stadium

Following the ODIs, England and Australia then take part in a triangular Twenty20 series with New Zealand, hosted by Australia and New Zealand, from 3-18 February

NB Fixtures and start times are subject to change. The BBC is not responsible for any changes that may be made

Top Stories