World Cup 2014: Fifa announces Golden Ball shortlist

Arjen Robben and Lionel Messi
Netherlands' Arjen Robben and Lionel Messi of Argentina are two of the 10 players shortlisted for the Golden Ball.

Fifa has announced the shortlist for the 2014 Golden Ball, the prize awarded to the best player at the World Cup.

Argentina have three nominees in Angel Di Maria, Javier Mascherano and Lionel Messi, while their opponents in Sunday's final, Germany, have four.

Mats Hummels, Toni Kroos, Phillip Lahm and Thomas Muller are the players nominated from Joachim Low's side.

Colombia's James Rodriguez, Brazil's Neymar and Arjen Robben of Netherlands complete the 10-man shortlist.

Fifa has also announced the nominees for the Golden Glove competition, awarded to the best goalkeeper at the World Cup.

Costa Rica's Keylor Navas, Germany's Manuel Neuer and Argentina's Sergio Romero will compete for the prize.

Meanwhile, Netherlands' Memphis Depay and Paul Pogba and Raphael Varane of France have been nominated for the best young player at the tournament.

The winners of each competition are to be announced after Sunday's final.

Golden Ball winners
1930Jose Nasazzi (Uruguay)
1934Giuseppe Meazza (Italy)
1938Leonidas (Brazil)
1950Zizinho (Brazil)
1954Ferenc Puskas (Hungary)
1958Didi (Brazil)
1962Garrincha (Brazil)
1966Bobby Charlton (England)
1970Pele (Brazil)
1974Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
1978Mario Kempes (Argentina)
1982Paolo Rossi (Italy)
1986Diego Maradona (Argentina)
1990Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)
1994Romario (Brazil)
1998Ronaldo (Brazil)
2002Oliver Kahn (Germany)
2006Zinedine Zidane (France)
2010Diego Forlan (Uruguay)

Watch some of the best World Cup moments from the nominees

Angel Di Maria scores late winner for Argentina
Argentina's Lionel Messi
World Cup 2014: Arjen Robben puts Netherlands ahead
Highlights: Netherlands 0-0 Argentina (2-4 pens)
Brazil striker Neymar celebrates scoring Brazil's second goal
World Cup 2014: Colombia's James Rodriguez
Germany's Thomas Mueller celebrates his third goal against Portugal
Germany's Thomas Muller and Andre Schurrle celebrate against Brazil
Toni Kroos scores Gemany's third goal
Mats Hummels heads Germany in front against France
Mexico's Guillermo Ochoa

Top Stories