Dr McKenna Cup: Tyrone and Derry name much-changed teams for decider

Niall Morgan
Niall Morgan returns in goal for Tyrone for the McKenna Cup decider
Bank of Ireland Dr McKenna Cup Final: Tyrone (holders) v Derry
Venue: Pairc Esler, Newry Date: Saturday, 28 January Throw-in: 19:00 GMT
Coverage: Extended highlights on BBC iPlayer and BBC Sport website from Sunday evening

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte and Derry boss Damian Barton have both made several changes from their semi-finals for Saturday's Dr McKenna Cup final.

Harte's nine changes from the win over Fermanagh include the inclusion of Mark Bradley, Niall Morgan, Justin McMahon, Mattie Donnelly and Conor Meyler.

The inclusions of Mark Lynch and Conor McAtamney are among six changes from Derry's win over Monaghan.

Six-in-a-row seeking Tyrone beat Derry after extra-time in last year's final.

Morgan returns in goal while McMahon, Padraig Hampsey, Johnny Munroe andDonnelly come into the defence.

Up front, there are call-ups for Meyler, Bradley, Cahir McCullagh and Ronan O'Neill.

Tyrone are bidding for their sixth successive title in a repeat of last year's final at Pairc Esler.

The only survivors from the semi-final win over Fermanagh are defenders Aidan McCrory and Peter Harte, midfield pair Colm Cavanagh and Padraig McNulty, and forwards Declan McClure and Niall Sludden.

Barton calls up Conor McGrogan and Michael Warnock to his defence with Niall Keenan and Mark Craig dropping to the substitutes.

McAtamney joins Michael McEvoy in a new midfield partnership Aidan McLaughlin drops to the bench and James Kielt switches to centre half-forward.

Lynch and Peter Hagan are drafted into the attack with Carlus McWilliams and Emmett McGuckin relegated to the replacements and Benny Heron not included in the match-day squad.

Tyrone booked their place in the decider by beating Fermanagh 0-14 to 0-11 in their semi-final while Derry saw off Monaghan 2-12 to 1-13.

Last year's decider was a tempestuous affair with Tyrone pair Cathal McCarron and Ronan McNamee and Derry's Daniel McKinless and a serious facial injury sustained by Derry's Brendan Rogers also causing ill feeling between the counties following the game.

Tyrone: N Morgan, A McCrory, J McMahon, P Hampsey, J Munroe, M Donnelly, P Harte, C Cavanagh, P McNulty, D McClure, N Sludden, C Meyler, M Bradley, C McCullagh, R O'Neill.

Derry: B McKinless, C McGrogan, C Nevin, R Murphy, N Forester, O Duffin, M Warnock, C McAtamney, M McEvoy, E Lynn, J Kielt, P Hagan, M Lynch, R Bell, N Loughlin.

Extended match highlights on BBC iPlayer and BBC Sport website from Sunday evening

Top Stories