Colm Campbell: Warrenpoint golfer named in initial GB & Ireland Walker Cup squad

Colm Campbell
Colm Campbell won last year's Irish Open Amateur title

Warrenpoint's Colm Campbell has been named in an initial 19-man squad for Great Britain & Ireland's defence of the Walker Cup in September.

The final 10-man team for the biennial match against the United States will be announced in August.

Campbell, 29, is joined in the squad by his four fellow Irish players Alex Gleeson, Stuart Grehan, Paul McBride and Conor O'Rourke.

The match will be at Los Angeles Golf Club on 9-10 September.

Campbell won last year's Irish Amateur Open title and his successes also include an East of Ireland triumph.

2016 British Amateur Champion Scott Gregory leads a strong English contingent which includes current Lytham Trophy champion Alfie Plant and English Amateur Champion Daniel Brown.

Craig Watson will captain the Britain & Ireland team for the first time.

GB & Ireland squad: David Boote (Walton Heath), Daniel Brown (Masham), Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint), Owen Edwards (Llanwern), Alex Gleeson (Castle), Scott Gregory (Corthampton), Stuart Grehan (Tullamore), Craig Howie (Peebles), Barry Hume (Haggs Castle), Robert MacIntyre (Glencruitten), Paul McBride (The Island), Bradley Moore (Kedleston Park), Conor O'Rourke (Naas), Marco Penge (Golf at Goodwood), Alfie Plant (Sundridge Park), Craig Ross (Kirkhill), Sandy Scott (Nairn), Connor Syme (Drumoig), James Walker (Oaks)

Top Stories