Got a TV Licence?

You need one to watch live TV on any channel or device, and BBC programmes on iPlayer. It’s the law.

Find out more
I don’t have a TV Licence.


  1. Women's and Men's team sprint (qualifying, first round and finals)
  2. Women's Scratch (final)
  3. Men's team pursuit (first round)

Live Reporting

All times stated are UK

Get involved

New Zealand win gold

Men's team sprint

Netherlands claim silver and France take bronze.

Russia win gold

Women's team sprint

Australia claim silver and Germany take bronze.

Elinor Barker wins silver

Women's scratch race

Italy's Rachele Barbieri pips GB rider Elinor Barker at the death to take the gold medal. 

Barker wins silver in the scratch race!! 🎉🎉🎉


Barker wins silver in the scratch race!! 🎉🎉🎉 #TWC2017

Elinor Barker

Men's team pursuit

Today's events

Teams comprise four riders, racing over 4km. Two teams are on the track at the same time, one starting on the back straight, one on the home straight. The rules are simple - complete the distance in the quickest time possible, or catch your opponents in the final to win.

Drafting is crucial with riders racing millimetres behind each other. The time is stopped when the front wheel of the third rider crosses the line. This allows one member of the team to drop out during the race. Qualifying rounds now feature two teams on the track at once instead of one.

Scratch race

Today's events

The men race over 15km, the women 10km - the simplest of races. There are no intermediate sprints or points to be won. The winner is the first rider to cross the finish line.  

Team sprint

Today's events

The men's race is a three-lap, three-rider team time trial. After each lap, one rider drops out, leaving one man to race the final lap on his own. The women's race is a two-lap, two-rider affair.

The quickest eight teams in qualifying proceed to the first competition round and the fastest two teams from that round compete against each other in the final for the gold medal, with the next two fastest going through to race for the bronze medal.

Brits on bikes

Laura and Jason Kenny

Olympic champions Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Steven Burke and Callum Skinner have been named in the squad of 20 riders, of whom 10 are making their World Championship debut.

Great Britain will hope to match their table-topping five gold medals from last year's event in London but are without a number of star names.

Six-time Olympic champion Jason Kenny and four-time Olympic gold medallist wife Laura, who are expecting their first child, will miss the championships, while Bradley Wiggins has retired and Mark Cavendish is focusing on road racing.

Great Britain squad

Women's endurance: Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Ellie Dickinson, Neah Evans, Emily Kay, Manon Lloyd, Emily Nelson

Men's endurance: Matt Bostock, Steven Burke, Kian Emadi, Chris Latham, Mark Stewart, Andy Tennant, Oliver Wood

Sprint: Jack Carlin, Katy Marchant, Lewis Oliva, Ryan Owens, Callum Skinner, Joe Truman

Looking to start cycling

Dame Sarah Storey
Getty Images

If you've been encouraged to get your lyrca on, Get Inspired has a guide on how to get started in the sport available here.

When and where are the championships?

The World Track Cycling Championships 2017 are taking place at the Hong Kong Velodrome from 12-16 April. 

The Championships take place every year, last year they took place in London. They were first held in 1893, in Chicago and were originally for amateurs with separate professional races. Amateurs and professionals continued to competed in separate events until 1993, after which they raced together in "open" races. 

Championships are open to riders selected by their national cycling association. They compete in the colours of their country.