Ospreys: Steve Tandy claims World Rugby backing for try

Media playback is not supported on this device

Connacht v Ospreys

Ospreys coach Steve Tandy claims World Rugby have said their disallowed try in the 30-22 Pro 12 loss at Connacht should have been awarded.

Fly-half Sam Davies' touchdown was ruled out by referee George Clancy after conferring with TMO Jude Quinn.

"All the feedback we've had from World Rugby is it's a try," said Tandy.

However, a spokesman for the governing body said: "I cannot confirm or deny and will not be able to establish without more details."

Had it been awarded, the try would have levelled the scores at 27-all with a conversion to come and 15 minutes left to play.

Davies appeared to score after a searing break from 40 metres out.

More from BBC Wales Sport
Jenkins baffled by criticism of Wales
I'd support Thomas at the Olympics - Froome
Swansea encouraged by record against Arsenal

He was brought down just short of the line, but appeared to break free of the tackler and touch down.

However, Quinn ruled that Davies had been held and should have released the ball. Tandy did not agree.

"It was a great game, but the only thing we're talking about is the non-decision," said Tandy.

"It was a clear and obvious try which is disappointing. It damages the competition's integrity and image which is the key factor in all this.

"It's not a held tackle, it's a try. There's no ambiguity about it. It was a try."

Pro 12 leaders Connacht held on for the their fifth successive win in all competitions.

Top Stories