Craig Levein calls for Jan Rezek suspension

Danny Wilson challenges Jan Rezek
Rezek (right) went down in the box under pressure from Wilson

Craig Levein is calling for Jan Rezek to be suspended for the fall that led to a last-minute penalty equaliser for Czech Republic at Hampden.

The Scotland boss was left fuming after Michal Kadlec converted the resulting spot-kick to secure a 2-2 draw.

"I don't believe the Czech Republic deserve to have Rezek available for the next two games," said Levein.

A Uefa spokeswoman confirmed that the organisation had the power to take action if they see fit.

The governing body's officials will examine the match delegate's report, with their control and disciplinary wing tasked with upholding fair play.

"It depends on what they see in the match report and if it has been included," the spokeswoman explained.

"But sometimes it doesn't have to be included for action to be taken."

With time running out on Saturday, Rezek went down as Danny Wilson stuck out a leg, although there appeared to be no contact.

The Liverpool defender later claimed Rezek had admitted to diving but the Czech substitute himself insisted there had been a touch.

The point leaves the Czechs in pole position to seal a play-off spot behind Spain and Levein's anger was exacerbated when Dutch referee Kevin Blom later booked Christophe Berra for simulation when he went down under a challenge from Roman Hubnik in the other penalty area.

Levein believes Uefa should look into the situation, just as they did following another controversial Hampden penalty award four years ago.

Lithuania and then Hearts midfielder Saulius Mikolunias was handed a two-match suspension for diving to win his side a penalty during a 3-1 victory for the Scots in the previous European Championship qualifying campaign.

Levein, whose side face Lithuania on Tuesday, said: "Let's look at it and say nothing is going to happen that will help us get any of the points back.

"But there are situations I feel that we shouldn't let pass.

"We have a player from the Czech Republic who has dived and admitted it. His director of football has come on the television and said it wasn't a penalty.

"I remember a similar incident when Mikoliunas received a two-game ban.

"Well, a precedent has been set and I think it's worth making sure that people are aware of what's happened.

"There is a respect campaign and fair play is quite high up on Fifa's thoughts. There is enough evidence to suggest that there was a breach of those rules."

Anorthosis Famagusta forward Rezek will miss his country's next qualifier against Spain after picking up his second booking of the campaign for a foul on Charlie Adam.

The Czechs finish their Group I fixtures away to Lithuania.

Top Stories