BBC Sport - Denis Shapovalov 'blacked out' after hitting an umpire in GB Davis Cup tie

Shapovalov 'blacked out' after hitting umpire

Canada's Denis Shapovalov says he "blacked out" after hitting an umpire in the eye with a ball during a Davis Cup match against Great Britain.

The 17-year-old was trailing Kyle Edmund 6-3 6-4 2-1 when he struck the ball in anger and hit Arnaud Gabas, defaulting the match.

“I remember hitting the ball and I didn’t even realise where it went and then I turned over and I see the official bending down holding his eye,” said Shapovalov.

“I was in complete shock and regret right away. I kind of blacked out for the next 10 minutes maybe."

This clip is from 5 live Breakfast on Wednesday, 8 February 2017.

Top videos