Triathlon: Helen Jenkins wins bronze in Stockholm as Non Stanford crashes

Helen Jenkins
Helen Jenkins (centre) has been selected to represent Great Britain at the Rio Olympics

Rio-bound triathlete Helen Jenkins won bronze at the sixth World Triathlon Series event in Stockholm, but fellow Briton Non Stanford crashed out.

Bermuda's Flora Duffy won in two hours, three minutes and 38 seconds, with Jenkins third and Vicky Holland fourth.

Welsh athlete Stanford fell off her bike and hurt her wrist, but British Triathlon hopes she "will be fine".

Alistair Brownlee won the men's event, finishing ahead of his brother Jonny in second place.

The winner finished in a time of one hour, 50 minutes and 33 seconds, just 10 seconds ahead of his brother.

He said: "I need to run about a minute faster, which I think I can do in the next six weeks.

"If I can move my running on it will be my best chance of winning another Olympic medal."

Along with Gordon Benson, the Leeds brothers will represent Great Britain at the Rio Olympics, while Jenkins, Stanford and Holland are the three female athletes for the Games in Brazil.

Having finished fifth at London 2012, Wales' Jenkins qualified for Rio after victory at the Gold Coast World Series event in April.

"I am really happy to get on the podium today," said the 32-year-old. "I made life hard for myself, I had a terrible swim, but I felt good on the bike and on the run I just kind of hung in there.

"Flora is so strong at the moment. I am actually really happy for her to get the win, I mean obviously I would like to, but she deserves it the way she raced today."

New Zealand's Andrea Hewitt was second in the women's event, 20 seconds behind Duffy.

Women's results

1 Flora Duffy (Ber) 2:03:38

2 Andrea Hewitt (NZ) 2:03:58

3 Helen Jenkins (GB) 2:04:06

4 Vicky Holland (GB) 2:04:43

5 Ai Ueda (Jpn) 2:04:56

Selected others:

DNF Jodie Stimpson

DNF Non Stanford

Men's results

1 Alistair Brownlee (GB) 1:50:33

2 Jonny Brownlee (GB) 1:50:43

3 Pierre Le Corre (Fra) 1:51:30

4 Andreas Schilling (Den) 1:51:47

5 Fernando Alarza (Spa) 1:51:48

Selected others:

10 Adam Bowden (GB) 1:53:05

DNF Gordon Benson (GB)

Top Stories