Who else can see how I've been using the BBC?

Page updated: 10 May 2017

Generally only you can see how you’ve been using the BBC, unless for example:

  • You do something public, like comment on a BBC story.
  • You give us permission to share your information with another service. For instance if you export a playlist of songs from BBC Music to Deezer, Spotify or YouTube.
  • You ask us to. For example, when you share something on social media.
  • We’re required to share it for legal or regulatory purposes.

We may also share your information with our service providers for research and analysis, or if it’s necessary to provide whatever service you’re using. For example, we use a third party to send our newsletters.

We share some of your personal data with TV Licensing, to see if you are using BBC iPlayer and to keep their database up to date. Find out more about when you need a TV Licence.

Choose language: CymraegGàidhlig