Sony Awards 2010: Winners list

  • Published
Mark Kermode
Image caption,
BBC 5 live's Mark Kermode won the best specialist contributor award

Here are the winners for this year's Sony Radio Academy Awards, held in London on 10 May.

Breakfast Show of the Year (10 million-plus listeners)

Today (BBC Radio 4)

Best Music Programme

Dermot O'Leary Show (BBC Radio 2)

Best Entertainment Programme

The Capital Breakfast Show (95.8 Capital FM)

Best Speech Programme

Nihal (BBC Asian Network)

Music Radio Personality of the Year

Scott Mills (BBC Radio 1)

Music Broadcaster of the Year

Zane Lowe (BBC Radio 1)

Speech Radio Personality of the Year

Frances Finn (BBC Radio Nottingham)

Speech Broadcaster of the Year

Sir David Attenborough (BBC Radio 4)

News Journalist of the Year

Lyse Doucet (BBC World Service)

Station Programmer of the Year

Euan McMorrow (Radio City 96.7)

Best Station Imaging

Oxfordshire's 106 Jack FM

Station of the Year (up to 300,000 listeners)

Moray Firth Radio

Station of the Year (300,000 - 1 million listeners)

BBC Radio Derby

Station of the Year (1 million-plus listeners)

Kiss 100

Digital Station of the Year

Planet Rock

National UK Station of the Year

BBC Radio 5 live

Sony Gold Award

Trevor Nelson

Special Award

BFBS Radio.

Sony Rising Star Award

Jarvis Cocker (BBC 6 Music)

Best Community Programming

The New Ballads of Reading Gaol (BBC Radio Berkshire)

Best Sports Programme

Sportsound (BBC Radio Scotland)

Best Feature

Archive on 4: Working for Margaret (BBC Radio 4)

Best News Special

Crossing Continents: Chechnya (BBC Radio 4)

Best Competition

Who's Calling Christian? (Absolute Radio)

Best Music Special

Elvis By Bono (BBC Radio 4)

Best Internet Programme

Hackney Podcast (

Best Specialist Contributor

Mark Kermode (BBC Radio 5 live)

Best Single Promo/Commercial

Dear Stan (talkSPORT)

Best Breaking News Coverage

Alzheimer's Tragedy (BBC Radio Ulster)

Best News & Current Affairs Programme

Newshour - (BBC World Service)

Best Use of Branded Content

Skins Radio (NME Radio)

Best Live Event Coverage

Absolute Blur (Absolute Radio)

Best Drama

People Snogging in Public Places (BBC Radio 3)

Best Promotional/Advertising Campaign

Vote Joe (Real Radio North East)

Best Interview

Jenni Murray interviews Sharon Shoesmith, Woman's Hour (BBC Radio 4)

Best Comedy

Adam and Joe (BBC 6 Music)

Best Specialist Music

Zane Lowe (BBC Radio 1)

Breakfast Show of the Year (under 10 million listeners)

Dixie & Gayle, The Real Breakfast Show (Real Radio Yorkshire)

Around the BBC

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.