Nick Clegg
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Election results: Nick Clegg resigns as Liberal Democrat leader

Nick Clegg has resigned as leader of the Liberal Democrats after his party was reduced from 57 to eight MPs in the general election.

"I must take responsibility and therefore I announce that I will be resigning as leader of the Liberal Democrats,'' he said.

"A leadership election will now take place according to the party's rules".

  • 08 May 2015
Go to next video: Lib Dem Danny Alexander loses to SNP