Oldham East and Saddleworth by-election candidates

Voters in Oldham East and Saddleworth will vote in the first by-election of the coalition era on Thursday.

It follows a special court ruling which overturned the general election vote after winning Labour candidate Phil Woolas was found to have made untrue claims about his Lib Dem opponent who finished second.

Giles Dilnot reports spoke to the Labour, Lib Dem, Conservative, UKIP and BNP candidates about why this is no ordinary by-election.

The full list of candidates (in alphabetical order) is: Debbie Abrahams (Labour) Derek Adams (British National Party) Kashif Ali (Conservative) Peter Allen (Green Party) David Bishop (Bus-Pass Elvis Party) The Flying Brick (Monster Raving Loony Party) Loz Kaye (Pirate Party of the United Kingdom) Stephen Morris (English Democrats) Paul Nuttall MEP (UK Independence Party) Elwyn Watkins (Liberal Democrats)

More from the DAILY POLITICS

Twitter with the DAILY POLITICS

  • Section
  • Published