Europe map
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Schengen Agreement: Passports and European travel

British people need a passport to travel to France or Germany from the UK - but not when crossing the border between those and many other European countries.

That is because Britain is not part of Schengen area - set up after an agreement signed in a symbolic village bordering three countries.

That set out a travel area which included most countries inside - and a few outside - the EU, but not the UK, Ireland, the Isle of Man or the Channel Isles,

Adam Fleming reports for Politics Europe.


More clips on our BBC website; 'like' us on Facebook page; follow us on Twitter or watch full programmes from the last seven days via BBC iPlayer

  • 05 Jul 2013
Go to next video: Pressure for common EU migration policy