Liberal Democrat year: Tim Farron to Vince Cable

The Liberal Democrats picked up a few seats in the 2017 election, but also lost some including the one held by former leader Nick Clegg.

Tim Farron handed over the leadership to the Vince Cable, who was unopposed when applying for the role.

Ahead of Mr Cable's first conference speech as party leader, BBC archive looks back over some of the highlights for the party in the last 12 months.