Malaysia's Prime Minister Najib Razak (second right) in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 5 May 2013
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Malaysia vote: PM Najib Razak's Barisan Nasional wins

The ruling National Front coalition has won a simple majority in Malaysia's election, extending its 56-year rule, with two-thirds of seats confirmed.

PM Najib Razak's Barisan Nasional (National Front) coalition had passed 112 seats in the 222-seat parliament, the country's Election Commission said.

Defeated opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim accused the party of widespread fraud before and during the polls.

Jonathan Head reports from Kuala Lumpur.

  • 05 May 2013
Go to next video: Malaysia turnout 'very impressive'