Traditional Japanese food
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Japanese cuisine added to Unesco 'intangible heritage' list

The United Nation's cultural organisation has added traditional Japanese food to its Intangible Cultural Heritage list.

It is hoped the accolade will help preserve Washoku - the name used to describe all types of Japanese dishes such as sushi - as traditional dietary habits die out in the country.

Russell Trott reports.

  • 05 Dec 2013
Go to next video: The link between stocks and sushi