Tunisian migrants in Italy
Media playback is unsupported on your device

EU urged to share N Africa migrant rush

Countries in southern Europe have urged the rest of the EU to share the burden of accepting migrants from North Africa as a new influx is predicted.

Italy, Spain, France, Cyprus, Malta and Greece presented joint proposals at a meeting of EU interior ministers in Brussels on Thursday.

The six countries want a common EU asylum system to be in place in 2012.

Chris Morris reports.

  • 25 Feb 2011
Go to next video: Families flee Libya for Tunisia