Empty Times Square
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Non-emergency vehicles banned on NYC roads due to snow

The north-east of America is braced for a massive storm,

New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Rhode Island and Massachusetts have declared states of emergency and 50 million people are expected to wake up to a foot of snow on Tuesday.

Non-emergency vehicles have been banned on New York City's 6,000 miles of roads after 23:00 local time.

Nick Bryant reports.

  • 27 Jan 2015
Go to next video: Severe blizzard forecast for New York