UK Politics

Election 2015: Who's who in David Cameron's cabinet

Here's a guide to who's who in David Cameron's cabinet:

Prime Minister

David Cameron, who became prime minister in 2010 at the head of a coalition government with the Liberal Democrats, has now appointed an all-Conservative cabinet.

First Secretary of State and Chancellor of the Exchequer

David Cameron argued during the campaign that it was essential for George Osborne to be "back at his desk" following the election.

The chancellor will also take on the role of first secretary of state, making him the highest ranking cabinet minister after the prime minister.

Home Secretary

Image copyright Getty Images

Theresa May has been re-appointed to the position she has held since 2010.

Foreign Secretary

Also re-appointed is Philip Hammond, who has been foreign secretary since 2014.

Work and Pensions Secretary

Image copyright PA

Former Welsh Secretary Stephen Crabb was promoted to the Department for Work and Pensions on 19 March following the resignation of Iain Duncan Smith.

Defence Secretary - Michael Fallon

Image copyright (C) British Broadcasting Corporation

Michael Fallon has also been re-appointed to a position he has held since 2014.

Oliver Letwin

Image copyright PA

Oliver Letwin is promoted to Cabinet as Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster in overall charge of the Cabinet Office.

Health Secretary

Jeremy Hunt was appointed Health Secretary in 2012 and remains in post.

Leader of the House of Commons

Former Justice Secretary Chris Grayling has been made of Leader of the House, replacing William Hague who is no longer an MP.

Justice Secretary

Michael Gove, a former education secretary, is moved from chief whip to take up the justice secretary's position held by Chris Grayling since 2012.

Education Secretary

Image copyright Getty Images

Nicky Morgan continues as education secretary after her appointment last year.

Leader of the House of Lords

Image copyright Getty Images

Conservative peer Baroness Stowell retains this position and has been made a full member of the cabinet.

Business, Innovation and Skills Secretary

Image copyright Getty Images

Sajid Javid will take up a new role as business secretary. In the last parliament he held the role of Secretary of State for Culture Media and Sport.

Energy and Climate Change Secretary

Image copyright Reuters

Amber Rudd is to be secretary of state for energy and climate change. This post was previously held in the last parliament by Lib Dem Ed Davey.

Culture, Media and Sport Secretary

Image copyright Reuters

John Whittingdale will take up this role held previously by Sajid Javid. Before the election he was chairman of the Commons culture select committee.

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary

Image copyright PA

Liz Truss held this position during the final year of the coalition government, and will remain in post.

International Development Secretary

Justine Greening was appointed to this position in 2012 and continues in the post.

Transport Secretary

Image copyright Reuters

Patrick McLoughlin remains in this position, after taking over from Justine Greening in 2012.

Communities and Local Government Secretary

Image copyright PA

Greg Clark was promoted to the cabinet after being minister for universities, science and cities for the last year of the previous parliament. He replaces Eric Pickles.

Northern Ireland Secretary

Image copyright PA

Theresa Villiers was appointed Northern Ireland Secretary in 2012 and continues in post.

Wales Secretary

Image copyright PA

Alun Cairns, formerly Wales minister, was promoted to secretary of state in the mini reshuffle triggered by Work and Pensions Secretary Iain Duncan Smith's resignation.

Scotland Secretary

Image copyright Reuters

The Conservatives' only MP for a Scottish constituency, David Mundell, who served as a minister in the department from 2010-15, takes this position. Two Lib Dems - Michael Moore and then Alistair Carmichael - held it in the coalition.

Also attending Cabinet are:

Chief Secretary to the Treasury

Image copyright AFP/Getty

Greg Hands takes this position, formerly held by Lib Dem Danny Alexander who was a victim of the SNP surge in Scotland.

Chief Whip

Image copyright PA

Former Immigration Minister Mark Harper has been made government chief whip.

Minister for Small Business

Image copyright PA

Anna Soubry, previously minister of state for defence, is the new Minister of State for Small Business in the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.

Minister for Employment

Image copyright Reuters

Priti Patel is to be Minister of State for Employment at the Department for Work and Pensions. She was Exchequer Secretary in the last parliament.

Minister without Portfolio

Image copyright PA

Robert Halfon is Minister without Portfolio - his responsibilities include contributing to the government's policy and decision-making processes.

Matthew Hancock

Image copyright Reuters

Matthew Hancock has been appointed Minister for the Cabinet Office and Paymaster General.

Responsibilities include: public sector efficiency and reform, government transparency, civil contingencies, cyber security and UK statistics, among others

Attorney General

Jeremy Wright is to remain as Attorney General, a post he has held since July 2014.

... and also attending political cabinet

Boris Johnson

Image copyright Reuters

The Mayor of London has accepted an invitation from the prime minister to attend political cabinet. However this is not a ministerial appointment. He won't be attending full cabinet and he will not be running any department.

Party chairman

Lord Feldman is appointed Conservative Party Chairman and will attend political cabinet. He replaces Grant Shapps.

Related Topics

More on this story