Election 2015 England

Election 2015: Labour snatch Burnley and Lancaster & Fleetwood

Catherine Smith
Image caption Labour's Catherine Smith took Lancaster & Fleetwood from Conservative Eric Ollerenshaw

Labour has made two gains in Lancashire taking one seat from the Conservatives and another from the Liberal Democrats.

Catherine Smith narrowly defeated Conservative Eric Ollerenshaw in Lancaster & Fleetwood with a majority of 1,265.

In Burnley, Julie Cooper secured 14,951 votes, unseating Liberal Democrat Gordon Birtwistle in a 6.3% swing.

Across the rest of the county, Labour held on to six seats while the Tories retained eight.

MP elect for Lancaster & Fleetwood Catherine Smith said she would represent and champion the area "to the best of my ability".

She also paid tribute to her predecessor Eric Ollerenshaw's work in the constituency.

Mr Ollerenshaw said he hoped he "hadn't let anyone down" after a "long and hard battle".

Speaking to BBC Radio Lancashire after her win in Burnley, Julie Cooper said: "It's a fantastic end to the day.

"I have worked for this for a very long time. I promise to give 100% for the people of Burnley."

Image copyright Julie Cooper
Image caption Julie Cooper is a qualified teacher

The married English teacher and Burnley FC season ticket holder added: "People have been told times are getting better but that is not what it seems if you have lost your job or are suffering welfare cuts."

Mr Birtwistle said: "Labour threw the kitchen sink at this seat and we had far less resources."

He added that he now plans to "go back to being retired, like I was before I was elected".

In Blackburn, Kate Hollern retained the seat for Labour, increasing the majority that Jack Straw held by 2,904 votes for a total of 12,760.

Mr Straw had been the town's MP since 1979 before he recently retired.

However, the news wasn't so good for Mr Straw's son. Will Straw, Labour's candidate for the Rossendale & Darwen constituency failed in his bid to unseat Conservative Jake Berry.

To find out your election result, go to BBC Election 2015.

Related Topics

Around the BBC