Election 2015 Northern Ireland

Election 2015: 138 candidates vying for 18 NI seats

Palace of Westminster Image copyright NIKLAS HALLE'N
Image caption There are 18 Northern Ireland seats at Westminster

Nominations have now closed for the 2015 general election on 7 May.

A total of 138 candidates are standing in 18 constituencies across Northern Ireland.

The Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) are standing in 16 constituencies while the Ulster Unionist Party (UUP) is standing in 15.

As part of an electoral deal in North and East Belfast, the UUP are supporting the DUP.

In Fermanagh and South Tyrone and in Newry and Armagh the DUP are backing the UUP candidate.

Sinn Féin, the SDLP and the Alliance Party are standing in all 18 constituencies.

Eligible voters

The Green Party is standing five candidates and UKIP is running in 10 seats.

Seven Traditional Unionist Voice (TUV) candidates have been selected.

The Conservative Party is running in 16 seats except North Belfast and Fermanagh and South Tyrone.

The Workers Party is fielding candidates in five constituencies.

People Before Profit have fielded a candidate in West Belfast and CISTA, which wants a review of drug laws relating to cannabis, is contesting four constituencies.

There are five independent candidates including Lady Sylvia Hermon.

In Northern Ireland, 1.2 million people are eligible to vote and there are 1,370 polling stations across Northern Ireland.

Counting will take place overnight and the first results are expected early on Friday 8 May.

You can get a list of candidates standing in each constituency here and it will be updated.

More on this story

Around the BBC