Election 2015 Wales

Welsh MPs in Labour's shadow cabinet

Chris Bryant and Owen Smith
Image caption MPs Chris Bryant and Owen Smith have been given roles by Labour's acting leader in a new shadow cabinet

Pontypridd MP Owen Smith will continue as shadow Welsh secretary after acting leader Harriet Harman reshuffled Labour's frontbench team.

Rhondda MP Chris Bryant is promoted to the shadow cabinet culture, media and sport job.

Veteran Tory MP John Whittingdale is taking the role in Prime Minister David Cameron's cabinet.

Preseli Pembrokeshire Tory MP Stephen Crabb is to remain in his post as Welsh Secretary.

Mr Smith said the Labour party needs to ask "searching questions" of itself after the general election result and which prompted the reshuffle.

More on this story