Sherlock wins two trophies at Bafta TV Awards

  • Published
Sherlock actor Martin Freeman
Image caption,
Martin Freeman, who plays Dr Watson, said he was "very chuffed" to win

Sherlock has taken two prizes at the Bafta TV Awards ceremony in London, including best drama series.

Martin Freeman, who plays Watson in the latest screen version of the stories, was named best supporting actor.

But star Benedict Cumberbatch and Doctor Who's Matt Smith were beaten to best actor by Daniel Rigby for his portrayal of a young Eric Morecambe.

The audience award, chosen by the public, was won by ITV2 reality show The Only Way Is Essex.

The programme saw off five other nominees including Downton Abbey, Sherlock and Channel 4 hit My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding.

Gameshow win

One of the other shortlisted shows, Danish import The Killing, was named best international programme.

Host Graham Norton also became an award winner, taking best entertainment performance for his chat show.

But he failed to pick up best entertainment programme, which was won by gameshow The Cube ahead of The X Factor and Have I Got News For You.

E4 show Misfits, which led the field with four nominations ahead of the ceremony, claimed an early win with best supporting actress for Lauren Socha.

Vicky McClure was named best actress for her role in Shane Meadows drama This Is England '86, ahead of two-time former winner Anna Maxwell-Martin.

Socha beat EastEnders star Jessie Wallace, nominated for her performance in The Road To Coronation Street, and Lynda Barron, who also appeared in the drama.

The BBC Four show detailing the early days of the Weatherfield soap won best single drama.

EastEnders was named best continuing drama ahead of Coronation Street, which had marked its 50th anniversary with a hard-hitting tram crash storyline.

Jo Brand won best female comic performance for her role in hospital sitcom Getting On, beating favourite Miranda Hart.

Steve Coogan won the male equivalent for his role in The Trip, while Rev and Harry and Paul were among the other small screen comedy winners.

Veteran newscaster Sir Trevor McDonald was presented with the Academy Fellowship at the TV Baftas for his "outstanding and exceptional contribution" to the medium.

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.