Entertainment & Arts

Broadchurch wins Broadcasting Press Guild hat-trick

(l-r) Chiwetel Ejiofor, Olivia Coleman, Jamie Dornan Image copyright Getty Images/PA
Image caption The winners are expected to attend the ceremony in central London on Friday

Hit ITV detective series Broadchurch has won three awards, including best drama series, at the Broadcasting Press Guild (BPG) awards in London.

Olivia Colman was named best actress for her role as detective Ellie Miller, while creator Chris Chibnall won the BPG writer award.

12 Years a Slave star Chiwetel Ejiofor won best actor for his role in BBC Two drama Dancing on the Edge.

Jamie Dornan won the breakthrough award for his role in BBC's The Fall.

Dornan will next be seen playing the lead role of Christian Grey in the much-anticipated film Fifty Shades of Grey, based on the best-selling book by EL James.

The annual awards, now in their 40th year, are voted for by journalists who specialise in TV, radio and the media.

Image caption The Wipers Times starred Ben Chaplin and Julian Rhind-Tutt

BBC Two picked up a third award for best single drama - for The Wipers Times, written by Ian Hislop and starring Michael Palin alongside Ben Chaplin and Julian Rhind-Tutt.

BBC One's Strictly Come Dancing - now entering its 10th year - was named best entertainment programme. The award was collected by Sir Bruce Forsyth at a ceremony at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane.

Channel 4 won all three awards for factual television. Syria: Across the Lines was voted best single documentary, Educating Yorkshire won the award for best documentary series and the BPG award for best factual entertainment went to Gogglebox.

Sky Television won best multichannel programme for its drama series The Tunnel, based on the Scandinavian hit The Bridge. The broadcaster also won the innovation award, "for 25 years of constant innovation that has changed the face of broadcasting".

LBC's Nick Ferrari, who earlier this week chaired the Europe debate between Nigel Farage and Nick Clegg, was voted radio broadcaster of the year.

Radio 4's Tweet of the Day, which explores the calls of British birds, was voted radio programme of the year.

As previously announced, Pride and Prejudice screenwriter Andrew Davies was awarded the Harvey Lee award for his outstanding contribution to broadcasting.

The 77-year-old dramatist has been behind enduring hits such as House of Cards and Bleak House, and - more recently - Mr Selfridge.

John Humphrys was the last recipient of the award, named in honour of the former Daily Telegraph media correspondent and Broadcasting Press Guild chairman, who died in 1991.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites