Entertainment & Arts

Costume Designers Guild Awards: Jenny Beavan honoured for Mad Max

Jenny Beavan accepting her Costume Designers Guild Award Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Beavan is nominated for an Oscar for her work on Mad Max: Fury Road

Jenny Beavan, who was the subject of Stephen Fry's "bag lady" remark at the Bafta film awards, has been honoured at the Costume Designers Guild Awards.

She won the "excellence in fantasy film" prize for Mad Max: Fury Road.

Beavan, who previously won an Oscar in 1987, is also nominated for an Academy Award for her work on the Mad Max film.

Fry's comments on Beavan's choice of outfit after she won the best costume prize at the Baftas led to criticism on social media.

Tarantino and Blanchett recognised

He told the audience at the ceremony: "Only one of the great cinematic costume designers would come to an awards ceremony dressed as a bag lady."

The former QI host, who had been presenting the show, later tweeted a picture of the pair and said she was a "dear friend" and had "got" the joke.

He has since left Twitter, saying the "fun is over".

If Beavan - who was presented with her award by British actress Kate Beckinsale - wins the Oscar this weekend, it would add to the statuette she was awarded for her work on period drama A Room with a View.

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Cate Blanchett, pictured backstage with Kate Beckinsale, was given the Lacoste spotlight award
Image copyright Kevin Winter
Image caption Quentin Tarantino was also honoured at the annual Costume Designers Guild Awards

Jenny Eagan received the guild's contemporary film prize for Netflix drama Beasts of No Nation at the annual awards, while the "excellence in period film" award went to Paco Delgado for The Danish Girl.

Actress Cate Blanchett and director Quentin Tarantino were among the non-fashion designers recognised at Tuesday's event, held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles.

Blanchett was given the Lacoste Spotlight Award, presented by costume designer Sandy Powell - with whom she worked on Carol, The Aviator and Cinderella.

Tarantino took home the distinguished collaborator award "in recognition of his creative partnerships with costume designers", the awards organisers said. His co-stars in The Hateful Eight, Kurt Russell and Jennifer Jason Leigh, presented the award.

Costume designer Ellen Mirojnick, who has worked on Wall Street, Basic Instinct and Behind the Candelabra, was awarded the career achievement award, with the distinguished service award given to Edwina Pellikka, "for her dedication to the craft and art of design".

Other awards went to Lou Eyrich for American Horror Story: Hotel, which won the outstanding contemporary television series award; Mirojnick for The Knick, for outstanding period television series; Michele Clapton for Game of Thrones, which won the outstanding fantasy television series award and Julie Vogel took home the excellence in short form design prize.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites