Entertainment & Arts

Sherlock: New episode titles revealed

Martin Freeman and Benedict Cumberbatch
Image caption The new series will begin in January

The titles of the first two new Sherlock episodes which will air in 2017 have been revealed.

BBC One, which broadcasts the drama, confirmed the episodes will be called The Six Thatchers and The Lying Detective.

Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman will reprise their roles as Sherlock Holmes and Watson respectively.

The fourth series of the BBC's updated take on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's detective will begin in January.

Both actors were seen filming scenes in Cardiff earlier this year.

It has already been announced Toby Jones will play a villain in one of the episodes of the new three-part series.

The Six Thatchers is likely to be based on Sir Arthur's story The Adventure of the Six Napoleans, while the second episode's title is thought to be a reference to The Adventure of the Dying Detective.

Last week, Sherlock was named best made for TV movie for its special episode The Abominable Bride, broadcast on New Year's Day, at the Primetime Emmy Awards.

Follow us on Twitter @BBCNewsEnts, on Instagram, or if you have a story suggestion email entertainment.news@bbc.co.uk.

Related Topics

More on this story