The Last of Us 2 wins big at Golden Joysticks

  • Published
A screenshot from The Last of Us 2Image source, Sony

It's been praised for its plot, diversity and strong female characters.

Now, The Last of Us 2 has cemented a stunning year with huge wins at the Golden Joystick Awards.

The game took home six trophies including Best Storytelling and Ultimate Game of the Year.

"I am not gonna lie, this is pretty sweet," said director Neil Druckmann.

"I could not be prouder of this game or the team that put it together."

This Twitter post cannot be displayed in your browser. Please enable Javascript or try a different browser.View original content on Twitter
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.
Skip twitter post by Naughty Dog

Allow Twitter content?

This article contains content provided by Twitter. We ask for your permission before anything is loaded, as they may be using cookies and other technologies. You may want to read Twitter’s cookie policy, external and privacy policy, external before accepting. To view this content choose ‘accept and continue’.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.
End of twitter post by Naughty Dog

The Golden Joysticks, now in their 38th year, are mainly voted for by the public.

And this year, gaming has been a lockdown lifeline for many people.

In fact, the gaming industry as a whole was named the winner of the Outstanding Contribution prize.

The awards were hosted by Laura Bailey and Travis Willingham, who play Black Widow and Thor in the game Marvel Avengers.

Their co-star Sandra Saad, who plays Kamala Khan AKA Ms Marvel, won Best Performer.

Image source, Getty Images
Image caption,
Sandra Saad at last year's Comic Con

Hades, set in the Ancient Greek underworld, was voted Best Indie and also won the Critic's Choice Award.

There were two wins for Minecraft, currently enjoying a mini renaissance, with the Still Playing award and Best Gaming Community.

Animal Crossing: New Horizons was named Nintendo Game of the Year.

Ori and the Will of the Wisps took home the equivalent prize for Xbox, and the PlayStation Game of the Year was, you won't be surprised to hear, another win for The Last of Us 2.

Image source, Sony
Image caption,
The Last of Us has been praised by critics for its diversity and gripping plot

Golden Joystick Awards 2020: Full list of winners

  • Best Storytelling - The Last of Us 2
  • Best Multiplayer Game - Fall Guys
  • Best Visual Design - The Last of Us 2
  • Best Game Expansion - No Man's Sky: Origins
  • Mobile Game of the Year - Lego Builder's Journey
  • Best Audio - The Last of Us 2
  • Best Indie Game - Hades
  • Still Playing - Minecraft
  • Studio of the Year - Naughty Dog
  • Esports Game of the Year - Call of Duty: Modern Warfare
  • Best New Streamer / Broadcaster - iamBrandon
  • Best Family Game - Fall Guys
  • Best Gaming Community - Minecraft
  • Best Performer - Sandra Saad (Kamala Khan)
  • Breakthrough Award - Innersloth (Among Us)
  • Outstanding Contribution - The Gaming Industry
  • PC Game of the Year - Death Stranding
  • Best Gaming Hardware - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080
  • PlayStation Game of the Year - The Last of Us 2
  • Xbox Game of the Year - Ori and the Will of the Wisps
  • Nintendo Game of the Year - Animal Crossing: New Horizons
  • Most Wanted Game - God of War: Ragnarok
  • Critic's Choice - Hades
  • Ultimate Game of the Year - The Last of Us 2

Follow Newsbeat on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.

Listen to Newsbeat live at 12:45 and 17:45 weekdays - or listen back here.