UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Mark Fletcher
    • Votes: 21,791
    • Vote share %: 47.4
    • Vote share change: +6.9
  2. Labour
    Dennis Skinner
    • Votes: 16,492
    • Vote share %: 35.9
    • Vote share change: -16.0
  3. The Brexit Party
    Kevin Harper
    • Votes: 4,151
    • Vote share %: 9.0
    • Vote share change: +9.0
  4. Liberal Democrat
    David Hancock
    • Votes: 1,759
    • Vote share %: 3.8
    • Vote share change: +0.9
  5. Green
    David Kesteven
    • Votes: 758
    • Vote share %: 1.7
    • Vote share change: +1.7
  6. Independent
    Ross Walker
    • Votes: 517
    • Vote share %: 1.1
    • Vote share change: +1.1
  7. Independent
    Natalie Hoy
    • Votes: 470
    • Vote share %: 1.0
    • Vote share change: +1.0

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 5,299
  • Registered voters: 75,161
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -2.2

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 47.4%
Labour 35.9%
The Brexit Party 9.0%
Liberal Democrat 3.8%
Green 1.7%
Independent 1.1%

Vote share change since 2017

  • The Brexit Party +9.0 Gained
  • Conservative +6.9 Gained
  • Green +1.7 Gained
  • Independent +1.1 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +0.9 Gained
  • Labour -16.0 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Conservative MP calls for Dennis Skinner statue

David Pittam

BBC News Online

A newly-elected Tory MP who replaced Dennis Skinner has called for a statue of the veteran Labour MP to be erected in the constituency he served for 49 years.

Mark Fletcher defeated the 87-year-old former miner, known as the Beast of Bolsover, in one of the biggest upsets of the general election.

Mark Fletcher in Parliament
Parliament TV

Mr Fletcher used his maiden speech in the House of Commons to pay tribute to his predecessor in the seat of Bolsover, calling him "a giant of British politics" who "fought tirelessly for his constituents".

'Beast of Bolsover' recognised in Parliament

Liam Barnes

BBC News

Tributes have been paid in the House of Commons to Dennis Skinner after the veteran politician lost his seat at the general election.

Affectionately known by many as the Beast of Bolsover, the Labour stalwart had represented the Derbyshire constituency for almost half a century before being beaten by Conservative Mark Fletcher.

Jacob Rees-Mogg, Leader of the Commons, told the House that even though his party had won, it was still a sad loss.

Dennis Skinner Bolsover
Getty Images

How Dennis Skinner lost his Bolsover seat

Veteran Labour politician Dennis Skinner, 87, has lost the seat he had held since 1970 after being defeated by Conservative Mark Fletcher.

Why did 2019 prove to be an election too far for the so-called Beast of Bolsover?

Dennis Skinner
Getty Images

Tory Bolsover winner pays tribute to Skinner

Greig Watson

Reporter, BBC News Online

Mark Fletcher, who took Bolsover from Dennis Skinner and the Labour Party, was generous to his rival in his acceptance speech.

He said: "He has served this seat with distinction and has been a wonderful constituency MP."

Red wall collapses

Tony Roe

BBC East Midlands political editor

The East Midlands political map now looks very different to the way it did when Labour were last in government in 2010.

It’s now a region where Labour seats are confined to the cities and everywhere else is Conservative.

Since 2010 Labour has lost every town they represented in Parliament with the exception of Chesterfield. Those seats in the former industrial areas, dubbed the red wall, have actually been collapsing since 2010.

Seats like North West Leicestershire, Sherwood and Amber Valley have now built substantial safe majorities for the Tories.

And Mansfield, which narrowly went blue for the first time in the 2017 election now has a majority of 16,000. Mansfield is a safe Conservative seat. Let that sink in. Bolsover, Bassetlaw and Ashfield are now Conservative seats.


'Most eurosceptic' Labour MP loses seat

Tony Roe

BBC East Midlands political editor

The Beast has lost. The red wall has crumbled. Any Labour hope that the 87-year-old's personal vote would win the day didn't come to fruition.

He was probably the most eurosceptic of the Labour MPs but that was not enough.

Dennis Skinner
PA Media

Bolsover: Dennis Skinner loses seat

Dennis Skinner has lost his seat to Conservative Mark Fletcher. Mr Skinner had been MP for Bolsover since June 1970.

If he had been re-elected, he would have been the longest serving member of the House of Commons.

Mark Fletcher overturned the 5,288 vote Labour majority to win by 5,299 votes.

Kevin Harper of the Brexit Party came third and Liberal Democrat David Hancock came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 2.2 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 46,000 people, 61.1% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Four of the seven candidates, David Hancock (Liberal Democrat), David Kesteven (Green), Ross Walker (independent) and Natalie Hoy (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingDennis Skinner loses Bolsover seat

Gavin Bevis

BBC News

Veteran Labour MP Dennis Skinner has lost the Bolsover seat he has held since 1970 to Mark Fletcher of the Conservatives.

Dennis Skinner

Skinner facing defeat in Bolsover

Chris Doidge

BBC Radio Derby, political reporter

The exit poll suggests there is a 94% likelihood that Bolsover will go to the Conservatives.

Dennis Skinner has held the seat since 1970.

Elsewhere in the county, Margaret Beckett's Derby South seat is too close to call while Derby North is likely to go Conservative, but still quite close.

Dennis Skinner