Fermanagh & South Tyrone

Parliamentary constituency


Candidates listed alphabetically by surname

  • Alliance Party
    Matthew Beaumont
  • Ulster Unionist Party
    Tom Elliott
  • Social Democratic & Labour Party
    Adam Gannon
  • Sinn Féin
    Michelle Gildernew
  • Independent
    Caroline Wheeler

Find a constituency

Find a constituency



General Election 2017 results
Party Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Sinn Fein

Michelle Gildernew Votes 25,230 header_vote_share 47.2 Net percentage change in seats +1.8


Ulster Unionist Party

Tom Elliott Votes 24,355 header_vote_share 45.5 Net percentage change in seats -0.9


Social Democratic & Labour Party

Mary Garrity Votes 2,587 header_vote_share 4.8 Net percentage change in seats -0.5


Alliance Party

Noreen Campbell Votes 886 header_vote_share 1.7 Net percentage change in seats +0.4


Green Party

Tanya Jones Votes 423 header_vote_share 0.8 Net percentage change in seats -0.8


Ulster Unionist Party
, with candidate Tom Elliott
, have the following results:
  • 23,608 total votes taken.
  • 46.4% share of the total vote
  • +46.4% change in share of the votes
Sinn Fein
, with candidate Michelle Gildernew
, have the following results:
  • 23,078 total votes taken.
  • 45.4% share of the total vote
  • -0.1% change in share of the votes
Social Democratic & Labour Party
, with candidate John Coyle
, have the following results:
  • 2,732 total votes taken.
  • 5.4% share of the total vote
  • -2.3% change in share of the votes
Green Party
, with candidate Tanya Jones
, have the following results:
  • 788 total votes taken.
  • 1.5% share of the total vote
  • +1.5% change in share of the votes
Alliance Party
, with candidate Hannah Su
, have the following results:
  • 658 total votes taken.
  • 1.3% share of the total vote
  • +0.4% change in share of the votes

Change compared with 2010

Latest updates

Fermanagh and South Tyrone constituency profile

Fermanagh and South Tyrone is one of the tightest battlegrounds in Northern Ireland between unionism and nationalism.

Since it was created in 1950 it has been represented by six separate nationalist MPs and five unionist MPs.

Since the 2010 general election, unionist parties have formed a pact in the constituency, either in favour of an independent unionist candidate or the UUP’s Tom Elliott.

In 2010 Michelle Gildernew of Sinn Féin won by just four votes, only to lose by 530 votes to Mr Elliott in 2015. Two years later, Mrs Gildernew took the seat back again with a majority of 875.

In 1981 the seat was won by IRA hunger striker Bobby Sands, who was elected on 9 April while on hunger strike in the Maze Prison. He died less than a month later.

Covering a relatively large geographic area, Fermanagh and South Tyrone incorporates both Enniskillen –the largest town in Fermanagh – and the Tyrone market town of Dungannon.

It is a largely rural constituency and shares a long border with the Republic of Ireland.

As of 1 November its electorate is 76,140.

Lough Erne
David Dixon
Lough Erne in County Fermanagh is popular with both domestic and foreign tourists.

Fermanagh & S Tyrone

Election Graphic

Sinn Féin takes final Northern Ireland seat from UUP

Michelle Gildernew has taken the final seat in Northern Ireland.

Michelle Gildernew

Just one seat to go - and it could be tight...

Now 17 of the 18 constituencies in Northern Ireland have been declared. We are just waiting on the result from Fermanagh and South Tyrone - and that may be some time.

View more on twitter

An update...

So far, 15 constituencies have declared their winners. The SDLP and UUP are yet to win a seat. There are three more constituencies to go.

Mark Durkan
Press Eye

They are - Fermanagh and South Tyrone; Newry and Armagh; and West Tyrone.

Rain doesn't dampen the vote - especially in Fermanagh and S Tyrone!

Northern Ireland turnouts

Here are the final turnout figures for Northern Ireland - up across the board on the 2015 numbers.