UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    David Davies
    • Votes: 26,160
    • Vote share %: 52.1
    • Vote share change: -1.0
  2. Labour
    Yvonne Murphy
    • Votes: 16,178
    • Vote share %: 32.2
    • Vote share change: -4.4
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Alison Willott
    • Votes: 4,909
    • Vote share %: 9.8
    • Vote share change: +5.6
  4. Green
    Ian Chandler
    • Votes: 1,353
    • Vote share %: 2.7
    • Vote share change: +0.8
  5. Plaid Cymru
    Hugh Kocan
    • Votes: 1,182
    • Vote share %: 2.4
    • Vote share change: -0.3
  6. Independent
    Martyn Ford
    • Votes: 435
    • Vote share %: 0.9
    • Vote share change: +0.9

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 9,982
  • Registered voters: 67,094
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.8

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 52.1%
Labour 32.2%
Liberal Democrat 9.8%
Green 2.7%
Plaid Cymru 2.4%
Independent 0.9%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +5.6 Gained
  • Independent +0.9 Gained
  • Green +0.8 Gained
  • Plaid Cymru -0.3 Lost
  • Conservative -1.0 Lost
  • Labour -4.4 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

'Get Brexit done'

"There's going to be a few challenges ahead... we want to get Brexit done," Conservative MP David TC Davies tells BBC Radio Wales after holding Monmouth.

“There was a mood in the country that people had had enough of three years of argument about this," he said.

"Whether people voted leave or remain, they actually felt that they just needed to get this done.”

He says the party will "govern from the centre", adding: “It’s not going to be enough for us to just win these seats now.

“I hope those people who won those seats for the first time will be able to win again."

David TC Davies and supporters
David TC Davies held Monmouth

Monmouth: Conservative hold

David Davies has been re-elected as the MP for Monmouth, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Yvonne Murphy by 9,982 votes, 1,776 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Alison Willott of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Ian Chandler came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.8 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 50,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Three of the six candidates, Ian Chandler (Green), Hugh Kocan (Plaid Cymru) and Martyn Ford (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Name error stops 106-year-old Win Hawkins voting
Her mother fought for women's votes - but 106-year-old Win Hawkins was turned away.

May 'maintains my confidence' says David TC Davies

David TC Davies, who has been re-elected as MP for Monmouth, said Theresa May "maintains my confidence" and is the woman to lead Britain through the Brexit negotiations.

Reacting to a Welsh Conservative source suggesting that there should have been more of a Welsh campaign, Mr Davies told BBC Wales: "We don't know what the reason is.

"There is a mixed picture across the whole of the United Kingdom.

"You can't single Wales out and say it is any worse at the moment than anywhere else.

"I don't know what we would have done differently in Wales if we had been able to do things differently in Wales."

He said: "It's fair to say things have gone wrong. It's far too early to start thinking what they may be."

David Davies

Monmouth: Conservative hold

Election result