Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Shetland Islands

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Highlands and Islands
Result: LD HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Tavish Scott Votes 7,440 67.4% Net percentage change in seats +19.9


Scottish National Party

Candidates Danus Skene Votes 2,545 23.1% Net percentage change in seats +11.0


Scottish Labour

Candidates Robina Barton Votes 651 5.9% Net percentage change in seats −0.7


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Cameron Smith Votes 405 3.7% Net percentage change in seats +0.2

Turnout and Majority

Scottish Lib Dems Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish Lib Dems 67.4
Scottish National Party 23.1
Scottish Labour 5.9
Scottish Conservatives 3.7

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish National Party
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

This is the most northerly seat in the UK. The Shetland Islands are nearer to Norway than England, and their Viking heritage is celebrated in the annual Up Helly Aa fire festival in January.

The main town of Lerwick is a centre for the oil industry and further to the north lies Sullom Voe oil terminal. Traditional industries also feature including fishing and knitwear. Salmon farming is also an important source of employment.

The Liberal Democrats and their forebears have held the Westminster seat of Orkney and Shetland since 1950. The single seat that covered both groups of islands was divided in two at the creation of the Scottish Parliament. Tavish Scott, one time leader of the Scottish Liberal Democrats, has been MSP for the constituency since the parliament's inception in 1999, and retained his seat in the 2003, 2007 and 2011 elections.

Back to top