Language Switcher

  1. Wales
  2. Cymru

Wales Results

Welsh Assembly Results
Party Welsh Labour Plaid Cymru Welsh Conservative UKIP Wales Welsh Liberal Democrat
Seats 29 12 11 7 1
Change −1 +1 −3 +7 −4

After 60 of 60 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Labour win 29 seats - but fall short of a majority
  2. UKIP wins its first seats in the Assembly
  3. Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood ousts Labour in Rhondda
  4. Mapping the election - see party vote share by constituency across Wales
Result: LAB HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Welsh Labour

Candidates Hefin David Votes 9,584 35.3% Net percentage change in seats −13.6


Plaid Cymru

Candidates Lindsay Whittle Votes 8,009 29.5% Net percentage change in seats −0.2


UKIP Wales

Candidates Sam Gould Votes 5,954 22.0% Net percentage change in seats +22.0


Welsh Conservative

Candidates Jane Pratt Votes 2,412 8.9% Net percentage change in seats −4.3


Wales Green Party

Candidates Andrew Creak Votes 770 2.8% Net percentage change in seats +2.8


Welsh Liberal Democrat

Candidates Aladdin Ayesh Votes 386 1.4% Net percentage change in seats −2.7

Turnout and Majority

Welsh Labour Majority




Vote share

Party %
Welsh Labour 35.3
Plaid Cymru 29.5
UKIP Wales 22.0
Welsh Conservative 8.9
Wales Green Party 2.8

Vote share change since 2011

UKIP Wales
Wales Green Party
Plaid Cymru
Welsh Conservative
Welsh Labour

Latest updates

Constituency Profile

Situated north-east of Cardiff, the constituency is based around the town of Caerphilly, famous for its castle, a type of cheese and for being the birthplace of comedian Tommy Cooper.

The seat stretches north of the town to take in former mining communities along the Rhymney valley. There are a high proportion of residents suffering from health problems - just 75.7% describe themselves as being in good health with 9% describing their health as bad or very bad. The seat has been held by Labour since the first Assembly elections with former Welsh Secretary Ron Davies holding the seat from 1999 to 2003.

In 2011, Jeff Cuthbert won for Labour with 49% of the vote - with Ron Davies, now standing for Plaid Cymru, finishing second with 29%.

Back to top