Booker launch Dame Beryl Bainbridge prize

Image caption,
Dame Beryl Bainbridge died last July after a short illness

Organisers of the Man Booker Prize, for which the late Dame Beryl Bainbridge was shortlisted for five times without winning, are inviting readers to pick her best nominated book.

The Man Booker Best of Beryl prize asks readers to choose from books including The Dressmaker, nominated in 1973, and The Bottle Factory Outing, in 1974.

An Awfully Big Adventure was recognised in 1990, as was Every Man for Himself, in 1996, and Master Georgie, in 1998.

Dame Beryl died last July, aged 75.

The late author, said the Man Booker prize's literary director Ion Trewin, had been "the eternal Booker bridesmaid".

The award, he continued, meant the body was "able finally to crown her a Booker bride by letting the public choose what they believe to be the best of her books".

The novelist's daughter, Jojo Davies, said her mother wanted to win the Booker "very much, despite her protests to the contrary".

The winner of the online vote will be announced in April.

Dame Beryl, whose 1989 novel An Awfully Big Adventure was made into a film starring Alan Rickman and Hugh Grant, won the Whitbread novel award twice.

She received it first in 1977 for Injury Time, winning again in 1996 for Every Man for Himself.

This year's Man Booker shortlist will be announced in July, with a winner to be named in October.

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.