Olympic gold-winning cyclists on stamp

The women's team pursuit gold medal winners
Image caption The woman's team pursuit gold medallists also clocked a new world record

The women's team pursuit gold medal winners - cyclists Dani King, Laura Trott and Joanna Rowsell - have been celebrated on a stamp.

King from Southampton, Trott from Cheshunt, Herts, and Rowsell from Cheam, London, clocked three minutes 14.051 seconds to beat the world record they set in the first round.

The United States took silver, more than five seconds behind Britain.

The stamps, produced by the Royal Mail, will be on sale from Sunday.

Royal Mail is also painting postboxes gold in the birthplaces of the team members.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites