Vote 2014: Tower Hamlets mayoral election result

An election for mayor of Tower Hamlets was held on 22 May 2014, the same day as European elections and local elections in all 32 London Borough councils. The result is below.

Lutfur Rahman (Independent) elected
Second round
Candidate Party Final total % Status
Lutfur Rahman Independent 37,395 52.3 Elected
John Biggs Labour 34,143 47.7
First round
Candidate Party 1st pref % 2nd pref
Lutfur Rahman Independent 36,539 43.4 856
John Biggs Labour 27,643 32.8 6,500
Christopher Wilford Conservative 7,173 8.5
Nicholas McQueen UKIP 4,819 5.7
Chris Smith Green 4,699 5.6
Reetendra Banerji Liberal Democrat 1,969 2.3
Hugo Pierre Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition 871 1
Reza Choudhury Independent 205 0.2
Mohammed Khan Independent 164 0.2
Hafiz Kadir Independent 162 0.2

Second preference votes were used to elect the mayor as no single candidate received more than 50% of first preferences in the first round.

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites