Where are England's 10 national parks?


England's first national park was created in 1951. Since then the list has grown to 10 areas which are protected because of their countryside, wildlife and cultural heritage.

Nearly 70 years on, Environment Secretary Michael Gove has announced he is launching a review to consider whether to expand England's network of parks as well as areas of outstanding natural beauty.

So where are the country's 10 current national parks?

image copyrightJack Taylor/Getty Images
image captionSeven Sisters cliffs are part of South Downs National Park, established in 2010
image copyrightDan Kitwood/Getty Images
image captionThe sun lights up a valley near Pickering in the North York Moors, which became a national park in 1952
image copyrightDan Kitwood/Getty Images
image captionThe sun rises behind Thurne Mill on Britain's largest protected wetland, the Norfolk Broads
image copyrightChristopher Furlong/Getty Images
image captionA view from Higger Tor as snow covers the tops of the hills in the Peak District, which was made England's first national park in 1951
image copyrightOli Scarff/AFP/Getty Images
image captionSwimmers take part in a 5km swim in Windermere in the Lake District, England's largest national park
image copyrightMatt Cardy/Getty Images
image captionA soldier from 6 Rifles prepares to fire on the range at Okehampton Camp, Dartmoor, in Devon
image copyrightMike Hewitt/Getty Images
image captionThe New Forest was the first new national park for 50 years when it was given the status in 2005
image copyrightAndy Buchanan/AFP/Getty Images
image captionNorthumberland National Park, established in 1956, contains parts of Hadrian's Wall
image copyrightMatt Cardy/Getty Images
image captionExmoor ponies are a common sight on the moors of Exmoor National Park
image copyrightOli Scarff/AFP/Getty Images
image captionThe Dalesman steam train crosses the 24-arch Ribblehead Viaduct, erected in 1875, in the Yorkshire Dales National Park

England also has 34 areas of outstanding natural beauty - including the Chilterns, the Cotswolds and the Isle of Wight.

More on this story

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.