Doors of Cumbria courts to close


Courts in Whitehaven and Penrith are to be closed as part of a cost-cutting programme.

The government said 93 magistrates and 49 county courts in England and Wales would be shut - less than the number originally earmarked for closure.

They include magistrates and county courts in Penrith and Whitehaven.

Justice minister Jonathan Djanogly said the current system was "unsustainable" but Labour accused the coalition of "crude cost-cutting".

Originally, 103 magistrates courts and 54 county courts were marked for closure but a number were reprieved.

More on this story

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.