Derbyshire councillors late paying council tax

Council tax bill Image copyright PA
Image caption Two councillors faced legal action for failure to pay their tax bill

About 30 Derbyshire councillors have been late paying their council tax, a Freedom of Information request has found.

The elected members failed to pay their bills on time over the last four years, and some were late several times.

One councillor in Chesterfield has been issued with a court summons every year since 2010.

All the authorities said it was a private matter and they treated councillors the same as the public.

'Not very good'

None of the 29 councillors have been named but BBC Radio Derby's Freedom of Information request revealed of the nine councils responsible for collecting tax - which have a total of 403 councillors - all but one had chased its own members for unpaid bills.

In North East Derbyshire, two councillors faced legal action because they failed to pay their bill and in the Derbyshire Dales one councillor was late paying their tax seven times.

Lewis Rose, Conservative leader of Derbyshire Dales District Council, said: "That's not very good, I agree, and I'll be making enquiries about that.

"Councillors are individuals and human beings but I certainly agree they should set an example."

He added that he did not know who the offenders were in his authority but will not disclose their names when he finds out.

In a statement South Derbyshire District Council said councillors were treated in the same way as the public and if no payment is forthcoming usual procedures are followed.

Local authority Number of councillors paying tax late
Amber Valley One
Bolsover None
Chesterfield Six
Derby One
Derbyshire Dales Four
Erewash Three
High Peak Three
North East Derbyshire Seven
South Derbyshire Four

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites