BBC News

Community and education workers in Devon honoured

image captionSupt Iain Grafton has become an MBE for services to policing

Community volunteers and people involved in education are among 18 people recognised in the Queen's New Year Honours list for work in Devon.

Janet Howitt has become an MBE for services to people with visual impairment and to the Devon community.

Marcus Jewell has been appointed MBE for services to the community in Plymouth.

Doreen Tozer, who is a governor at two Plymouth schools, has become an MBE for voluntary services to education.

'Good team'

Mrs Tozer is chairwoman of governors at Dunstone Primary School and vice-chairwoman of governors at Stuart Road Primary School.

Mr Jewell said keeping the award secret had been difficult.

He said: "I've known about this for six weeks and it's the longest six weeks I've ever spent.

"I've been wanting to say to people: 'Hey, guess what?' But you can't."

He added that it was not just his work that was being honoured.

"When you're out there, you're not looking for awards and honours.

"And don't forget most of it is teamwork - I've always had a lot of good people around me."

Supt Iain Grafton of Devon and Cornwall Police, who has been appointed MBE for services to the police, said it was a "really humbling experience".

He said: "It's a great surprise, and I'm very touched to have been honoured.

"I believe that it doesn't just belong to me, it belongs to my colleagues and it belongs to the force as well."

Other award recipients include five people appointed OBE:

  • Susan Clarke, strategic manager for Achievement Collaboration at Devon County Council, for services to education
  • Gordon D'Silva, chief executive of Training for Life, for services to social enterprise in London and Devon
  • Patricia Henchie, from Teignmouth, former head teacher at Lowther Primary School in Richmond-upon-Thames, for services to education
  • Helen Sexton, formerly principal and chief executive of National Star College in Cheltenham, for services to local and national special needs education
  • Dr Carol Turley, research scientist at the Plymouth Marine Laboratory, for services to science

Nine other people in the county have been appointed MBE:

  • Raymond Dixon, a Plymouth-based Ministry of Defence clinical nurse specialist
  • Margaret Douglas, for voluntary service to the South Hams' Riding Group for the Disabled
  • Anthony Hodgkiss, deputy chairman of the Pensions Advisory Service, for public service
  • Timothy Key, for services to animal health research
  • Susan Larg, from Somerset, for services to the Voluntary Support Service in Devon
  • Phyllis Martyn, for services to St John Ambulance and to the community in Ilfracombe
  • Stephen Parker, from Yelverton, for charitable services
  • Betty Radford, for services to the community in Wonford
  • Audrey Williams, chairman of the education and events committee at the Devon Gardens Trust, for services to children

More on this story

  • New Year Honours for astronaut, referee and beekeeper