East Devon council leader loses seat

The Conservatives have retained overall control of East Devon District Council.

Of 59 seats contested, the Conservatives won 43, up from 42 in 2007. The Liberal Democrats followed with 10 seats and independents six.

However, before the count was completed, the previous leader of the authority, Conservative Sara Randall Johnson, found she lost her seat.

Independent Claire Wright won the Ottery St Mary Rural ward from her, campaigning against new house plans.

A total of 59 places on the council are being contested.

In the last administration, there were 42 Conservatives, 10 Liberal Democrats and seven independents.

The Conservatives had 49 candidates, the Liberal Democrats had 27 candidates, Labour 10, UKIP nine, and the Green Party seven.

There were also 16 people standing as independents while nine councillors were being returned unopposed.

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites