East Yorkshire councillors win deselection appeals

  • Published
Stephen Parnaby
Image caption,
Mp Parnaby said he would not be resigning as council leader

A council leader has won his appeal against a decision to exclude him from an approved list of candidates for next year's local elections.

East Riding of Yorkshire Council leader Stephen Parnaby was one of 10 Tory councillors who were not put on the approval shortlist by their Conservative constituency associations.

Appeals by Mr Parnaby and seven other councillors have been upheld by the associations.

Charles Hunter's appeal was rejected.

Doreen Engall's is yet to be heard.

The seven other councillors who have had their appeals upheld are Richard Stead, Andy Burton, Jane Evison, Margaret Chadwick, Bryan Pearson, Felicity Temple and the council's deputy leader Jonathan Owen.

Mr Parnaby said: "We are obviously pleased at the outcome of our appeal but this is tinged with regret and sadness that our highly-respected colleague, Chuck Hunter, was not successful.

"We intend to put this behind us, move forward and work with all our colleagues to uphold the reputation of the Conservative Party in the East Riding and the Conservative Group on East Riding of Yorkshire Council.

"We would like to thank everyone who has given us their support, which has been overwhelming during this very difficult period."

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.