Election 2015 England

General Election 2015: No change in Leicestershire seats

David Treddinick
Image caption David Treddinick held Bosworth for the Conservatives

None of Leicestershire's 10 parliamentary seats has changed hands in the 2015 General Election.

Loughborough MP Nicky Morgan said she wanted to continue as education secretary after increasing her majority from 3,700 to more than 9,000.

Labour retained its seats in Leicester East, West and South.

The Tories held Bosworth, Leicestershire South, Charnwood, Loughborough, Rutland and Melton, North West Leicestershire and Harborough.

There was election night drama when a police car "exploded" outside the Bosworth election count. Five men have been arrested.

Labour Mayor of Leicester, Sir Peter Soulsby, has been re-elected in the mayoral elections with more than 54% of the vote.

"Looking forward, it will be challenging for us here in Leicester," he said. Labour retained control of the city council.

Image caption Police have arrested five men after a police car was found on fire outside the Bosworth count
Image caption Conservative Nicky Morgan increased her 3,700 majority in Loughborough to 9,183

In the council elections. the Conservatives took control of Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council from the Liberal Democrats.

The party held Melton, North West Leicestershire, Rutland, Harborough, Blaby and Charnwood councils.

The Liberal Democrats retained control of Oadby and Wigston.

More on this story

Around the BBC