Missing North Riding FA trophy lid found in attic

Boro Rangers - current holders of the Saturday County Cup Image copyright North Riding FA
Image caption The Saturday County Cup, previously called the Cleveland Cup, was presented for many years without its missing lid

The missing lid of one of the country's oldest football trophies has been found in an attic following an appeal.

The lid for the Saturday County Cup - in use since 1880 - went missing sometime between the 1960s and 1980s.

The North Riding FA issued an appeal to find it as the trophy went on display at the National Football Museum in Manchester.

The lid has now been restored after being found in several pieces in a loft in Middlesbrough.

Image copyright North Riding FA
Image caption The lid has been restored and will be reunited with the trophy in the coming weeks

North Riding FA chief executive Tom Radigan said: "It is a great end to a great story.

"The cup is now in the museum for all football fans to see. To be able to reunite it with its lid, so the old trophy it takes on its full identity, is wonderful."

The finder asked to remain anonymous.

One notable winner of the trophy was Arthur Wharton, the world's first black professional footballer, whose Darlington side won it in 1887.

Image copyright North Riding FA/Shaun Campbell
Image caption The cup was won in 1887 by a Darlington team containing the world's first black professional footballer Arthur Wharton

Trophy timeline

Image copyright Getty Images/BBC
Image caption The Scottish FA Cup is believed to be the oldest national football trophy, the Sir Thomas Lipton trophy was nicknamed the first world cup, while the original Jules Rimet trophy was presented to three-time FIFA World Cup winners Brazil

1867: The Youdan Cup was presented to non-league Hallam FC after they won a tournament contested by Sheffield teams. It was recently valued at £100,000.

1873: The Scottish FA claims its cup is the world's oldest national trophy and association football cup. The English FA Cup started in 1871, but the trophy presented to the winners has changed several times.

1880: The Cleveland Cup, now the Saturday County Cup, is contested by teams on Teesside and the original trophy is still presented to the winners each year. The trophy is on display at the National Football Museum and will soon be reunited with its lid.

1909: The Sir Thomas Lipton trophy, won in Italy by West Auckland, was nicknamed the first 'World Cup'. The original trophy, which was presented to West Auckland after they retained it in 1911, was stolen in 1994. A replica now stands in the village's working men's club.

1938: The first FIFA World Cup was won by hosts Uruguay, with the winners presented with the Jules Rimet trophy. A new trophy was needed after Brazil was allowed to keep the original when it was crowned world champions for the third time in 1970.

Related Topics

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites