DUP MP Jim Shannon stands down from assembly


The DUP MP Jim Shannon has stood down as a Northern Ireland assembly member.

Mr Shannon will be replaced by Simpson Gibson who was first elected to Ards Borough Council almost 30 years ago.

The move is in line with the DUP's policy of phasing out dual mandates for politicians.

In May's general election, Mr Shannon was elected MP for Strangford.

Under assembly rules if a member steps down, their party is able to nominate a new person to take their seat.

Last month two other DUP MPs stood down.

William McCrea was replaced by former assembly member Paul Girvan and David Simpson by councillor Sydney Anderson.

The party has said its deputy leader Nigel Dodds will leave the assembly in the near future as they continue to phase out double jobbing.

That would leave just two DUP MPs holding seats in both Westminster and Stormont - Sammy Wilson and Gregory Campbell.