Northern Ireland

Ulster Bank to close five branches in NI

Ulster Bank
Image caption Ulster Bank said there would be 'no additional job losses' due to the announcement

Ulster Bank are to close five branches across Northern Ireland and nine in the Republic of Ireland by the end of the year, it has been confirmed.

The bank will close branches in Finaghy, Newtownabbey, Hillsborough and two in Belfast, on the Lisburn Road and Lombard Street.

They will also close six branches and three sub-branches in the Republic.

Ulster Bank said there would be "no additional job losses" due to the announcement.

In a statement, the bank said: "These changes are in response to changing customer behaviours, in particular the use of mobile and online banking."

Finance sector union IBOA said they were "concerned about the impact on the directly affected staff in terms of redeployment".

Larry Broderick, general secretary for the union, also said the announcement of branch closures pre-empted ongoing negotiations between the bank's senior management and IBOA.

The branches are expected to close by November.

In the Republic of Ireland, three branches will close in Dublin as well as others in Cork, Sligo and Clane, County Kildare.

Three sub-branches in Clara, County Offaly, Enfield, County Meath and Lifford, County Donegal will also close.

More on this story