Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland shared education: Six schools partnerships announced

Exam Image copyright other

The Department of Education in Northern Ireland has revealed the names of the next batch of schools to be considered for new shared campuses.

The six new partnerships involve more than 20 grammar, secondary and primary schools in the controlled, integrated and Catholic sectors.

They are spread across Belfast, Londonderry, Cookstown, and Counties Antrim and Fermanagh.

The schools had to prove they were already sharing with other sectors.

If their bids are eventually approved, they could get millions of pounds of capital funding.

The pledge to pay for shared education campuses came from the first and deputy first ministers.

Last July, the first three proposals were accepted for schools in Limavady, Ballycastle and Moy.

They received permission to step up their planning for new shared buildings or facilities. Some bids which were rejected at that stage have applied again and been successful in getting through to the next stage.

Related Topics

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites