UK Politics

Thatcher funeral: Invitations and guest list

Baroness Thatcher, Cherie Blair and Tony Blair (2007)
Image caption Tony and Cherie Blair will be among those attending the funeral of Baroness Thatcher

Further details of guests invited to attend the funeral of Baroness Thatcher at St Paul's Cathedral on Wednesday have been released.

The guest list has been decided by Lady Thatcher's family and representatives, along with the government and the Conservative Party.

It includes family and friends of Lady Thatcher and those who worked with her over the years, including members of her cabinets and representatives from a range of groups with which she was associated.

Those also invited include staff who worked closely with Lady Thatcher or who served her in some personal capacity, such as housekeepers who looked after her office in the Houses of Parliament.

Ten members of staff from the Ritz hotel, where Lady Thatcher was staying when she died, have been invited.

About 200 states, territories and international organisations have been invited to send an official representative.

Argentina's president has not been invited but the country's ambassador to Britain has. Downing Street says this is in keeping with diplomatic protocol for such occasions.

The Queen will lead the mourners with the Duke of Edinburgh.

St Paul's has a capacity of 2,300 and is expected to be full on the day.

Invitees include:

  • All surviving former UK prime ministers
  • All surviving former US presidents
  • Current US President Barack Obama
  • A representative of the family of former US President Ronald Reagan
  • Former US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton
  • All surviving members of Baroness Thatcher's cabinets
  • All of the current cabinet are expected to attend
  • European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso
  • Baroness Thatcher's former press secretary Sir Bernard Ingham and Lady Ingham
  • A representative of Nelson Mandela
  • Author Frederick Forsyth
  • British Forces Foundation director Mark Cann
  • Archbishop of York, the Most Reverend John Sentamu
  • Falklands War veterans

Some of those who have confirmed their attendance include:

  • Prime Minister David Cameron
  • Former Prime Minister Tony Blair and wife Cherie
  • Former Prime Minister Gordon Brown and wife Sarah
  • Former Prime Minister Sir John Major
  • Former South African President FW de Klerk
  • Former US Secretary of State and Nobel Peace laureate Dr Henry Kissinger
  • Leader of the Opposition Ed Miliband
  • The first minister of Scotland, Alex Salmond
  • The first minister of Wales, Carwyn Jones
  • The first minister of Northern Ireland, Peter Robinson
  • Lord and Lady Archer
  • Chairman of the BBC Trust, Lord Patten
  • London Olympic chief, Lord Sebastian Coe
  • Baroness Thatcher's former foreign policy adviser Lord Powell of Bayswater
  • Former Foreign Secretary Lord Carrington
  • Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper
  • Former Canadian Prime Minister Brian Mulroney
  • Former US Vice President Dick Cheney and his wife Lynne
  • London Mayor Boris Johnson
  • Metropolitan Police Commissioner Sir Bernard Hogan-Howe
  • Former Conservative minister Michael Portillo and wife Carolyn Eadie
  • Former Czech President Vaclav Klaus and current Prime Minister Petr Necas
  • US politician Newt Gingrich
  • US politician Ross Perot
  • Former Australian Prime Minister John Howard and his wife Janette
  • Advertising executive and former Conservative Party chairman Lord Saatchi
  • Conservative donor Lord Harris and Lady Harris
  • Conservative peer, Baroness Trumpington
  • Former Commons Speaker, Baroness Boothroyd
  • Conservative peer, Baroness Bottomley
  • Press baron, Lord Beaverbrook
  • Former first minister of Northern Ireland, Lord David Trimble
  • BBC director general, Lord Tony Hall
  • Political commentator Sir Robert Worcester
  • Conservative Sir Malcolm Rifkind
  • Former Liberal Democrat leader, Sir Menzies Campbell
  • Labour MP Frank Field
  • Labour MP Keith Vaz
  • Conservative MP Peter Lilley
  • Conservative Lord Sterling of Plaistow
  • Lady Annabel Goldsmith, the widow of Referendum Party founder Sir James Goldsmith
  • Businessman and UK Independence Party treasurer Stuart Wheeler
  • Italian Prime Minister Mario Monti
  • Kuwait Prime Minister Sheikh Jaber al-Mubarak al-Saba
  • Polish Prime Minister Donald Tusk
  • Crown Prince Pavlos and Princess Marie-Chantal of the Hellenes
  • Sheikh Nasser Sabah Al-Ahmed Al Sabah, son of the ruler of Kuwait
  • Latvian Prime Minister Valdis Dombrovskis
  • Former Dutch Prime Minister Ruud Lubbers
  • Former Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad
  • Chief of the Defence Staff General Sir David Richards
  • Former head of the Army General Sir Mike Jackson
  • Field Marshal Lord Bramall
  • Marshal of the Royal Air Force Lord Craig of Radley
  • General Sir Peter Wall
  • Field Marshal Sir John Chapple
  • Air Chief Marshal Sir Stephen Dalton
  • Air Chief Marshal Sir Stuart Peach
  • Major General Ed Davis
  • Vice Admiral Sir Roy Newman
  • Broadcaster Sir David Frost
  • Broadcaster Sir Trevor McDonald
  • Broadcaster John Sargeant
  • Lyricist Sir Tim Rice
  • Actress June Whitfield
  • Actress Joan Collins
  • Broadcaster Sir Terry Wogan and Lady Wogan
  • Singer Dame Shirley Bassey
  • Broadcaster and journalist Jeremy Clarkson
  • Lord and Lady Lloyd Webber
  • Fashion designer Anya Hindmarch
  • Former Antiques Roadshow presenter Hugh Scully
  • Artist Michael Noakes
  • Writer William Shawcross
  • Lady Solti, the widow of conductor Sir Georg Solti
  • JCB chairman Sir Anthony Bamford
  • Senior civil servant Sir Alex Allan
  • Singer Katherine Jenkins
  • Web pioneer Sir Tim Berners-Lee
  • Broadcaster Andrew Neil
  • Actor Michael Crawford
  • Chef Marco Pierre White
  • Conservative Raymond Monbiot
  • Williams Formula 1 team boss Sir Frank Williams
  • Daily Mail editor Paul Dacre
  • Businessman Gerald Ronson and Dame Gail Ronson
  • Philip Woodhouse, Master of Grocers Hall
  • Michael Cox, Master of the Worshipful Company of Vintners
  • The Lord Grabiner QC, treasurer of the Honourable Society of Lincoln's Inn
  • Mark Wood, chairman of the NSPCC
  • Journalist Martyn Lewis
  • Businessman Sir David and Lady Tang
  • Stephen Boateng, of International Democrat Union
  • Former UK ambassador Sir Leonard Appleyard
  • Sir George Christie, chairman of Glyndebourne
  • Hotelier George Goring

Among those not attending:

  • Ronald Reagan's widow Nancy is understood to be too frail to travel
  • Former US Presidents George Bush Snr and George W Bush will not be attending
  • German Chancellor Angela Merkel will not attend and instead her government will be represented by Foreign Minister Guido Westerwelle
  • Former Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev will not be attending due to health problems
  • Downing Street has confirmed that Argentine President Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner will not be invited
  • Argentina's ambassador to London, Alicia Castro, has declined her invitation
  • Lord Kinnock - former Labour leader of the opposition - will not be present because of a commitment to attend the funeral of a former local councillor in Wales
  • Media mogul Rupert Murdoch was invited along with other newspaper proprietors but has indicated he will not be coming