Newark by-election candidate names confirmed

  • Published
Image caption,
Newark is a Nottinghamshire market town

The full list of confirmed candidates for the 5 June Newark parliamentary by-election has been released by Newark and Sherwood District Council.

Robert Jenrick is to represent the Conservatives, Michael Payne Labour, David Watts the Lib Dems, and Roger Helmer the UK Independence Party.

In April, UKIP leader Nigel Farage ended speculation that he might stand.

The by-election was triggered by former Conservative MP Patrick Mercer's resignation over a lobbying scandal.

The full list of candidates, in alphabetical order by surname, is:

  • Baggaley, Paul Stephen - Independent
  • Bishop, David Laurence - Bus-Pass Elvis Party
  • Brick, Nick The Flying - The Official Monster Raving Loony Party
  • Hayes, Andy - Independent
  • Helmer, Roger - UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • Jenrick, Robert Edward - The Conservative Party
  • Kirwan, David Charles - Green Party
  • Payne, Michael - Labour Party
  • Rodgers, Dick - Stop Commercial Banks Owning Britain's Money
  • Watts, David Kenneth - Liberal Democrat
  • Woods, Lee - Patriotic Socialist Party